Hydro V’s Physio!

Well, it shouldnt be versus at all, but that is how it has panned out for me!

Physio has started for the last few weeks now and though it is good to get my joints and muscles doing some work, it is causing a huge amount of pain. My physiotherapist has gotten me a custom made gutter frame so that I can stand for short periods, this helps bone and muscle health, digestion, muscle wasting and a host of other things, however, as I am taking most of my weight on my upper body, shoulders and arms, as the pain in my pelvis and hips is too much, I am now left with an unruly right shoulder!

I saw Professor Frasiers team out in Croom hospital last week, they said to avoid any painful exercises and less impact and weight bearing the better. The doctor there was very good and knowledgeable about the condition and was honest with me, which I appreciate. He said that there is no solid guarantee that I would get out of the chair now that I am in it, but that we can do everything in our power to work towards that end goal and to prevent further damage in the meantime. So Hydrotherapy has started!

I am 2 sessions in at this stage, with another 2 booked in for next week. It is held out in Croom hospital and I have found it very good.
Unlike physio on dry land, hydro is in a warm pool, up to your shoulders and the buoyancy of the pool takes so much weight off that I can stand in the water unassisted for short periods without the excruciating pain of doing the same thing out of the water. The sense of freedom is incredible.

I am lasting only about 25minutes at the moment, and we are going to work on increasing the time and the amount of exercises over the course of the sessions. Although I do feel pain after a short time of doing anything even in the pool, it is nothing like dry physio and my muscles and joints are getting greater work done. It feels good, although leaving me wrecked tired after it, but a good feeling of wrecked!

So between physio, hydro, Occupational therapist and doctors appointments, I am keeping busy, however, when I am not busy, and now that I dont work, I can feel bored. I am trying to keep myself sharp by reading and keeping up to date with things, but I am longing for a personal creative project to keep me from going crazy! Nothing has come to light just yet but hopefully something creative will bloom soon, just so I can do something in my spare time to keep my mind active.

That wheelchair is still looking dull to me, maybe I will design attack it or something! :p

Leave a Reply

